No announcement yet.

Hiking the whole Ming wall

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hike! Hiking the whole Ming wall

Hi guys,

Firstly, thanks for viewing. Secondly, I apologise as you must see this planned hike 1000 times before - I've looked through a bunch of articles and they all seem to follow a similar route - of course.

Anyway, lets get into it. As with seemingly everyone on the planet, we think this hike is exceptionally appealing for a thousand reasons. A friend and I, somewhat adventure enthusiasts, plan to do this hike but to professionally film the entire trip. I know this might sound ridiculous to begin with, that's somewhat the point, but he has major backing from sponsors (Mario Rigby - he just hiked from Cape town to Cairo on his own over 2.5 years - google him!) and I am a professional cameraman wanting to make a living from extreme sport/adventure filming - I've spent lots of time hiking in the Himalaya, working as a Sherpa in the Pyrenees and cycled solo across Europe. We are not strangers to brutal conditions, big fitness tests and getting inevitably lost at times.

The idea is to capture the raw beauty, difficulty, culture and whatever else it throws at us with the hope of it landing on Netflix or a similar platform. Huge ambitions and arguably undoable, we know, but there is only one way to know for sure.

There are lots of questions to be asked and I will keep reading through other threads to try and find them in the meantime, but there are a few things that I can't find information on/has got me questioning particular things -

1 - I heard that a non-Chinese tourist is not legally allowed to carry a GPS signal? Does anyone know if that's true?