Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2 Hikes in one week

Hello wall fans,

i will be in China from 3rd to 17th September, visiting a friend who lives in Shanghai. We also want to do hikes on the wall North of Beijing. Im studying the wall for some years now and decided for 2 sections. Im a experienced mountain hiker and we both are physically very fit and did similar Things in the past so i think we can do it.

1 section: Going with a bus to Mutanyu, entering the wall there on the touristic section and walk over the Oxhorn Tower to the wild wall. Going over Jinkaou (2 days, walking really slow and safe and enjyoing the great views on extended breaks). Then either going down to the small village of "Xizhasi" which is north of the wall, or the further away "Lianyunling" which is south of the wall and maybe better for the transportation back. Time for section 2-3 days.

2 section: From Gubeikou to Simatai. From there back to Beijing. This one is very well know. Time around 3 days.

I have some questions and i would appreciate any help here:

- I still wonder how to get back from Jinkaou (the 2 villages mentioned) to Beijing OR directly from there to Gubeikou area.I guess we need the help of a private driver, does anyone has a good contact and phone number? He should be english speaking of course. Thanks a lot for any contact. If i need to find one by myself, what would be a fair Price, driving us from Jinkaou to Gubeikou? From Simatai, the end point of the hike we want to catch a public bus.

- im still not sure where the miltary area between Gubeikou and Jingshanling is exactly located. If we arrive there, is the walk around clearly marked and we will spot it or do i have to know exactly beforehand where to go and what to do

- Do you guys think someone (guards) will stop us at the end of the restored walls we have to go through before we enter the wild wall as we will be carrying bagpacks and stuff.

- Any more thoughts about the idea?