Mutianyu to Simatai?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mutianyu to Simatai?

Hello, I am planning a solo hike of somewhere between 4-7 days around the 2nd week of March. I have some hiking experience, but definitely wouldn't describe myself as experienced. I just bought Bryan's book to help prepare me, but I was hoping to get some additional advice. I haven't read all of it yet, but I have skimmed a few of the sections I thought would be most relevant, and that, along with internet research, has given me the impression that Mutianyu to Simatai or vice-versa might be a good choice. Since I also want to move at a comfortable pace, I may get off before arriving at either end. Some basic questions I have:

Do you think this is practical given that I have no vehicle and the wall is not continuous between these sections?
    Are there a decent number of towns or ways off along the way? (for my first extended hike on the wall, I would prefer not to go for more than a couple days without being able to re-supply if needed).
    Is the weather reasonable for a hike roughly March 6th-13th?
    Is there another hike you would recommend for me instead?

From the book, I read that West Five Eye tower is one of the best spots, so I think it would probably be a good one to reach. Speaking of the book, for some reason the maps don't enlarge on my ipad and so are mostly unreadable, but I will probably need to get more detailed maps from this website anyways.

Sort of a side question, I was planning on researching this shortly before arriving in Beijing (I'm in Xi'an right now), but since you may know, are there are any rental shops you recommend for hiking gear in the Beijing area?

I probably have more questions, but I think this is a lot for one post anyways, so I will stop here. Hope to hear from people!

Thanks,
    Josh

Re: Mutianyu to Simatai?

Probably better off buying than renting gear - not sure where you could rent unless you speak/read Chinese.